Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Easton Hubs Working Flawless After Free Axle Upgrade

For anyone who doesn't already know. Easton now is offering for free, a upgrade kit for your Easton Hubs (XC, Haven, and Havoc). This kit is offered to cure any problems with the old preloader adjuster system coming loose and not holding proper tension (see the articles below). I wanted to report back and let people know that I've been running this new system for over 6 months and the wheels have been bullet proof since. I was one of the first guys to run the Havens when they first released and also was the first to notice and post up about the loosening issue. Even working through the first gen axle issues, I've been a big proponent of the Easton Wheel systems, as the customer service has been excellent and I really believe the wheels to be some of the best complete systems offered on the market (yes I'm a bit of a fanboy) Not to pat my own back but I tend to put my wheels through plenty of abuse so if mine have not had an issue, I don't think anyone else will either. I logged over 1000 miles on my set of Havens and 1200 miles on my Havocs. The Mojo HD they are on is ridden the way it was intended. No posing/all shredding (okay, well a little posing, lol)

A lot of people have voiced interest in the Easton wheels but that they heard about bearing failures and the hubs coming loose. This was true but that problem is a thing of the past. My wheels now spin very freely with almost no drag but also have absolutely no side to side play, and it has stayed that way with no adjustments for the entire time since swapping to the new system. The old system seemed to be a hit or miss, with some people never having a problem, and some couldn't get the hubs to stay tight. Some of this might be user error and some a design flaw. Either way the new system takes the guessing out of the equation.