highly visible

Do I really need a 28mm wide rim with Gazzaloddi 3.0?

I'm contemplating the purchase of a Gazz 3.0 to run on the front of my 29"er when I want more cush than the available 29" tires will provide.

To do this, I need to buy a new disc-friendly 26" wheel. I have little experience with tires over about 2.5" in width. Do I really need a minimum 28mm rim as claimed, or would a 24mm-ish rim suffice?

- Dan

mtbr member
    I wouldn't go anything less than 28mm on a tyre that wide, it will have zero stability at any decent pressure. I would recommend going even wider, Alex DX32s are cheap, and are wide enough to drill 1 inch holes for weight reduction. The width gives you excellent stability and the option to run super low pressures.

- Joel

This place needs an enema

30+

Dan-

I've long used 3.0 gazzas on the front of my snowbikes. Usually I use a 44mm wide rim, and sometimes even an 80mm( ! ), but in an effort to shave weight I've experimented with narrower ones as well. I once tried a 27.5mm Sun Rhyno Lite, and could NOT (even with three tire levers) get the gazza to mount up. From there I tried an Alex dx32 (it works) and a WTB 36mm wide fr rim, which works great and isn't terribly tankish. YMMV

MC

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by GlowBoy
    I'm contemplating the purchase of a Gazz 3.0 to run on the front of my 29"er when I want more cush than the available 29" tires will provide.

To do this, I need to buy a new disc-friendly 26" wheel. I have little experience with tires over about 2.5" in width. Do I really need a minimum 28mm rim as claimed, or would a 24mm-ish rim suffice?

- Dan
    red-haze mounts his on a 24 mm WTB. I use the 27 mm Mavic F219. I do not doubt that MC could not mount it on a Rhyno Lite. That is a very bad combo for fit.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member