mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Crest 29er 32h on a 2 cross.

Got talking to a guy who is a pretty good wheel builder. When talking to him about my concerns with crest being a little flexy. He assured me with the right tension they were good. He also pointed out that he builds his up with 2 cross. His theory is that a shorter spoke will always be stiffer amd stronger then a longer one. He has yet to ever wreck a crest.

I did a rough calculation online and the 2 cross comes up 10mm shorter.

Whats your thoights as I really dont have anything to add as im a wheel noob.

mtbr member
    Ive built a few of those, and they're noodles. I built one 2x and it was a noodle and no stiffer than the 3x. Its not just a little flexy, its a LOT flexy!

The arch doesnt weigh much more and its drastically stiffer.

All though, people often mistake flexy for not durable. You can definitely have a very long lasting, durable and flexy wheel. I dont think they're particularly nice to ride, but a noodle wheel can certainly hold up just fine.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Arch weighs abit less then my infernos. There is nothing wrong with them, i just want a lighter wheel. I dont know if saving 70g per wheel is worth going to the arch.

Im down to 170lbs now and crest would probably suit me just fine. But I dobt want a flexy wheel.

I hear so many conflicting stories about crest and how they hold up. Then I see them coming stock on full suspenion trail bikes. I cant see a company putting weak wheels that they know might break. That would be a warranty nightmare.

mtbr member