mtbr member
    Sep 2006

Converting to disc brakes

ATM i'm using V brakes, but have got a good offer on some mechanical disc brakes (about $35, negotiable). everything is included except the hubs. so, i have a few questions. firstly, would i have to but a new wheelset or just hubs? if just the hubs, how would i get the spokes out? are disc brakes a big upgrade? etc. etc.

im a total noob at this :/

mtbr member
    first of all what kind of bike do you have? if you have an older bike or entry level bike you might not even be able to put discs on it. you also have to make sure your fork has disc mounts on it.

converting to discs is a pretty big upgrade. you will need disc hubs if your bike doesnt have them. you'll need either centerlock of 6-bolt hubs, this will depend on what type of brakes your getting. if your current wheels dont have disc hubs you should buy a disc wheelset. new disc wheelsets can be had for under $100 or you could get something cheaper if you buy used. you could just buy disc hubs but then you'll need to have a bike shop rebuild your wheels.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    ok, i've got a trek 4500, which has the fantastic rock shox judy tt fork on it, which is absolutely rubbish apart from the fact it has a disk brake mount, so im ok there. how much would it be to get LBS to rebuild my wheels? i mean, nothing wrong with present wheels, and im a bit worried i'll be downgrading if i buy a set off, say, ebay and they suck :/

mtbr member
    what model year is your bike. some treks come with rim brakes but they have disc hubs, if your bike has disc hubs then you are in luck. if you look at your hubs you'll be able to tell if they are disc hubs. look at these two pics if you have disc hubs they will look similar to these.

i dont know what a bike shop typically charges to build a wheel. you might be better off buying a new wheelset. some like this would be a decent wheelset http://www.blueskycycling.com/produc...-Ds-2-Rims.htm.