mtbr member
    May 2010

Continental Mountain King Supersonic with Supersonic tubes?

Hi,

I'm quite new to the mountain biking scene but have done some bmx riding a few years back. Just bought a Heckler and was thinking of changing the tires for some lighter ones.

I've been looking at chainreactioncycles.com since I live in Finland and they ship quite well here with good prices. The Continental Mountain King Supersonic seems to come quite highly recommended. The 2.2" tires on the CRC site would be perfect but the question is about the tubes.

They sell the Continental MTB 26 Supersonic tubes but they have a number on the listing indicating a that they fit tires from 1.9-2.1". Now, will these tubes work in the Mountain King Supersonic tire or would they be too small? If they won't fit what other lightweight tubes could I use in a 2.2" wide tire?

Thanks for your help,
    Jonathan

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I don't know about those specific tubes, but in general, tubes can be stretched a bit no problem.
    whatever...

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    I have used them in a 2.2 Race king for xc racing. Montain king 2.2 is a much smaller tyre. But they are a racing tube which are expensive and don't offer much puncture protection. You can get a Michelin aircomp C4 latex tube for the same price and 25 grams heavier but will provide better puncture resistance. Any other tube that goes to 2.2 or 2.25 will be fine[ usually around 150g]. those that go to 2.5 will be a bit heavy at about 200g

mtbr member
    May 2010
    The Michelin tubes are perfect for what I need. Thanks for the tip! Since they are 2.2" standard I won't have to stretch them beyond what they are manufactured for. They are only 30g heavier than the supersonic ones so I can live with that since the puncture resistance goes up significantly.

I am amazed at this forum and how fast people are to reply with good info. Thank you again!

mtbr member
    May 2010
    try http://www.bike-components.de