mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Conti Race Kings

Thinking about picking up a pair but don't know whether I should go tubeless or not for my UST rims...

The UST tubeless versions don't use their Black Chili compound, so there's the trade off. Do I get standard tires w/ Black Chili, or do I go tubeless w/o Black Chili?

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    Oh, and I think the standard tires are a fair bit lighter, even with tubes. So there's that too.

mtbr member
    I have some experience with the Supersonic version. Nice tires, but sealing them was a pita and one of the tires developed a bulge in the sidewall (not due to sealant) after 3-4 rides. $50 bucks gone.

If you choose the non UST tire, you'll probably want the Racesport version. Apparently has BC compound, is tubeless ready and sealant compatible? IME, durability is worth more than a bit of weight, especially considering the cost of tires these days.

No experience running UST rims and non-UST tires. Stan's Arch for me.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    From what I read somewhere else, the new 2012 racesport isn't tubeless ready anymore. Only ProTection is. Could be wrong tho.
    Main bike : Altitude RSL 70 '11
    DH bike : Aurum 2 '12

mtbr member
    I have a 2.2 up front. Tubeless on Stan's Crest 29, no problems.

mtbr member
    I've been on RaceKings for 2.5 years so far. 26" SuperSonic 2.2 version (fat tire!). They are Black Chili. Been running them tubeless with Stan's juice and gorilla tape on Stan's rims and on the chinese wide carbon rims. The key (I think) is to clean the interior of the tire before attempting the tubeless conversion. Otherwise, the juice won't "stick". I've used carb cleaner + isopropyl alcohol. Always with a compressor. I love those tires.

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    What's the difference betw the Racesport & Supersonic versions?

mtbr member
    Tire ETRTO dimension color weight
    Supersonic 50-559 26 x 2.0 black Skin foldable 430
    55-559 26 x 2.2 black Skin foldable 470