mtbr member
    Mar 2004

conditioning miles on Nokian Extreme 296

Does anyone know why Nokian suggests riding 30 miles on pavement before using their studded 296 tires on ice/snow ? What does it achieve? What are the downsides if you do not?

Lucifer rides an mtb

Removes the coating

I just started riding on a pair of WXC300s... love 'em! I'm no expert, but it's my understanding that there is a coating on the studs that you need to wear off the tip so you get better traction. I am not going to do anything special since I live 3 miles from the trailhead and will eventually get this break-in milage done regardless. Plus, after my first ride on snow, packed snow and ice, I don't see what additional traction I need - they were awesome right out of the chute!

mtbr member
    The breakin period seats the studs so they don't pull out so easily.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

answer form Nokian

I e-mailed Nokian the same day I posted the question here-
    Got my response today from Finland.

"Hi,
    During 30 mile brake in period studs will find their place. Studs might be abit aslant after mounting process and you might loose some studs easily.

Regards,
    Jorma"

I doubt I'll get 30 pavement only miles in before serious trail riding. It will be a mix. So far the tires are great on the icy stuff I've ridden - off camber roots and general trail stuff. Not so hot doing tight turns on smooth pavement. The studs will skid some.

No, that's not phonetic