mtbr member

Compare Specy Purgatory to Captain

Anyone have a good comparison (their opinion after riding both as a front tire)? Sizes would be 29x2.2 Purg and 29x2.2 Capt.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

banned
    Love my Purg - hate the Capt. Front end cornering bite with the Purg is outstanding, the Capt washes out constantly when I push it.

mtbr member
    Just look at the tread patterns. The captain is lower profile, less aggressive and faster rolling. Whereas the purgatory is more aggressive, higher profile and slower rolling (even though the new FEA redesign is meant to minimise that).

What that means is that the purg is a lot nicer in aggressive cornering. I have yet to wash the purg front out, whereas the captain would wash out occasionally when least expected. I am sure I will wash the purg out one day, but so far it is far more pleasant than the captain up front. Still run a captain on the back though.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    ....I've had good luck with a Captain Control on the front of my Epic.
    I'm running tubeless at 25 pounds and I weigh in at 170 pounds. I ride dry SoCal - Central Cal trails with loose over hard packed/rocky surfaces. I use it for XC racing as a Cat 3 rider. Someone more aggressive/talented may have different results but I'm a fan of The Captain.

Bill J.
    Last edited by specbill; 12-31-2012 at 08:45 AM.

mtbr member
    I really think I will pick one up and try it.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

R.I.P. DogFriend