Mr. Knowitall

New question here. Best tube patches?

I am starting to get a collection of tubes to be patched for reuse, and I found that i do not have enough patches to go around. then I started to think a bit. What are the best patches? I do not mind glue-type patches, as I have some worse than desired experience with the durability of glueless (although they usually hold air for a while after fixing the puncture).

So: best patch kit on the market - or pick and match types where I can get the actual patch size I want and not the ones "found useful by the manufacturer". I do not want the type where you cut your own patches - too much hassle.

Please, wise forum people: help my patching!

-Kristian

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    I have always had good luck with the traditional Rema patches, in the green plastic box. If you're patching more than a few punctures, you can get the patches in bulk quantities on Amazon. They sell the 25mm patches in boxes of 100. You can also get the vulcanizing fluid (glue) in 8 oz cans.

That's a lot of patching.
    Justin
    Salt Lake City
    2012 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29
    2006 Specialized Allez Expert Double

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Best tube patches?

Quote Originally Posted by authalic View Post
    I have always had good luck with the traditional Rema patches, in the green plastic box. If you're patching more than a few punctures, you can get the patches in bulk quantities on Amazon. They sell the 25mm patches in boxes of 100. You can also get the vulcanizing fluid (glue) in 8 oz cans.

That's a lot of patching.
    Agreed. Rema is my favorite. Buy a kit or two then fill in with the bulk patches. Rema has (at least) two different diameter round patches. Many shops have the bulk packs and sell them individually.
    How to Patch an Inner Tube
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

Trail Tire TV on blogger