mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Another Gorilla Tubeless Advice Thread

I've been running tubeless on my AM bike for a few years now, with no issues. This is with UST rims and "tubeless ready" tires. I'm definitely a fan of tubeless now, and decided to try and convert my DH setup to tubeless. My DH rims are non-UST Syncros DS32 rims, and I'm mounting "tubeless ready" Schwalbe tires onto them, using Gorilla tape as rim tape, and stans sealant. I have been successful in getting them aired up using a compressor, and to hold air, however I have not ridden them yet, and I have a couple of questions to ensure that I'm doing it correctly.

First, when applying the gorilla tape, how far up the rim sidewall should I go? Do I go all the way up the sidewall, partway up, or not up the side of the rim at all, keeping it only covering the flat(ish) channel part of the rim?

Second, the DS32 rims don't have much of a bead lock to them. Even though I can get them to hold air without tubes, the tire bead doesn't seem to "lock" into the rim. With my UST rims for example, once the bead is locked in, even if air is removed from the tires, the tire bead stays locked into the rim, and requires force to break it free if required. On the DS32 rim, as soon as I deflate the tire, the bead immediately pops off and back into the center channel of the rim. Is this normal for a ghetto tubeless setup such as this? Or should it stay locked in the way it does with my UST rim? Seeing how easily it pops off when deflated doesn't give me much confidence that's it's not going to blow off the rim when riding at speed.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I usually do not go up the sidewall of the rim. To get a tighter fit, you might try taping two or more layers on the rim bed.

If your rim is that loose I don't think I would trust it with tubeless.

Trail Tire TV on blogger