Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

29er HT, Still running tubes, need help on f/r tire combo

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  shiggy 
#1 ·
So I picked up my first 29er this year, couple weeks back. 2012 SJ comp HT. I'm not an expert by any means but I feel like the tires it came with a more for hard packed dirt and probably racing, I say this because the nubs are very small and when I really try to carve in/out a turn or at a high speed it just doesnt feel like I want it too. They dont seem to bit into the trails I ride very well.

*the trails I ride, mostly single track, few very steep hills and some nice down hills as well. Lots of rocks, roots and fun stuff to ride thru as well.

I'm still running tubes, thought about tubeless but decided to stay running tubes. I dont race, theres not thorns or crap like that I have to deal with and I'm not really worried about the weight I save from it.

So basically I'm looking for a really nice and grippy front tire with a nice grippy rear tire that isnt a terd. And when I say terd meaning doesnt roll very well. I've been reading a bunch of threads and I keep reading about Ardents, Aspens, RaRa (I think thats the name) and a few others. Any help suggestions or tips would be great!

#3 ·
What pressure are you running them at?

That can really change how a tire behaves. I get up things on Renagades that dudes on Nevegals can't, because I'm running pressures that allow my tire to grip, instead of bounce off everything they come in contact with.

#5 ·
I just replaced a tube, and before that in all honesty I didnt check the pressure. Whatever the shop pumped it up at for me was what it stayed. Since I replaced the tube I pumped both f/r to 30psi. I have no idea if thats the right psi to ride on, I keep hearing it is from other people who were told by someone else.

#7 ·
Shiggy, would you mind explaining the practical differences between the Enduro and the Trail Extreme in 29.