inexperienced at large
    Apr 2011

where to ride in Vancouver island and surrounding areas

I'm taking a trip up to Canada this summer.I plan on going to Vancouver Island, but if the trails are much better inland then I would much rather go there if it truly is better as far as conditions and trails go. I simply do not know a whole lot about where to ride. I am planning on focusing this trip around mountain biking, however I truly know nothing of trail conditions and the best time of summer to ride. I would love to go to some towns that have a lot of different trails in the area to ride to reduce travel time searching for trails. I have a Norco Range 3. It is a 160mm travel frame with 160mm forks. I do a lot of all mountain riding and a little freeride. I can do basic hips and jumps with gaps of 6-8 feet. So although I am not a complete newb, I am nowhere near expert level riding. I've heard a lot of the 'fabeled' North Shore riding, and would love to check it out. Any recommendations would be great! Again, looking for towns to be able to go to lots of riding spots. I am going to be going to different towns, but I would like to visit trail riding hot-spots.
    I plan on getting a Garmin 705 Edge or some sort of GPS to load up with a 8 gig Micro SD that I've already got. Also planing on checking out the Locals Guide to North Shore Rides
    Last edited by ehigh; 06-14-2011 at 07:50 PM.

slaving away in paradise
    Apr 2005
    I'll take a stab, on the island:

Sooke, fairly new trail system, but you do earn your turns. There's Harbourview and Broome.
    HV has mostly technical with lots of rocks and some fast flowy sections. Broome has more of
    a freeride feel to it with more jumps and stuff, but tons of ride arounds. The views from the top
    are some of the best anywhere. Also, Heartland is only 1/2 hr away with some really fun trails, but
    limited in scope depending on your fitness.