Grip it and rip it.

Job help in Canada (Alberta or BC).

Hi all,

Moving to Canada soon for a year (maybe more if it all goes well). I've booked my flight for Calgary on Sept 21st, going to be staying there the first few nights. I would like to get a job there, or in a small mountain resort in somewhere like Canmore, which I would prefer. What is the job sittuation like out there at the moment? Will I struggle getting a job in either area?

The area I'd like to work in is the ski, bike, or general outdoor sports area. I'm a qualified ski instructor and I've also planned to do a ski technician and boot fitting course before i go away. Hopefully I will have the first level in the Mountain Bike Leader Awards by then as well. I also hold an emergency first responder cert which I think could be relevant with these jobs.

I don't know anyone in Alberta, so that could make things harder job wise.

(I should probably say I would be happy to change my flights to Vancouver if there is better job options there and the surrounding area).

If anyone could offer any advice or help that would help me a lot.

Thanks.
    Last edited by Damitletsride!; 08-16-2011 at 12:08 PM.
    "Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional"

michaelmblog.wordpress.com

ups and downs
    Have you sorted out your work permit in advance? You'll need that to get any sort of employment

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/informa...tions/work.asp
    I'm a member of NSMBA and IMBA Canada

Grip it and rip it.
    Yeah I have my work permit sorted thanks.

ups and downs
    At least that's a bit easier if you're a member of the Commonwealth, you're good for the hunt.