Weight vs Functionality

Printable View

• 10-29-2012
    dumanichi
    Weight vs Functionality
    I am building a UST wheel set. I am debating which hub to go with. I am looking at the Hope Pro 2 Evo Rear hub 285g and the Hadley rear hub 411g. The Hadley has 72 points of contact vs Hope with 24. I'm not an expert. Should I go light or heavy on the hub?:madman:
  • 10-29-2012
    KevinK
    What UST wheel set are you putting these hubs on? If you want a work horse, that never has problems, I'd go with the DT Swiss 240S hubs. Order the star ratchet, which is super easy to install, and you will have 36poe! I have the dt240s hubs on two bikes, one is 7 years old, the other is fairly new.

If you are a technical rider, I would definitely go with a higher POE like I9 or Hadley, which has 72 POE!, If you hammer, xc, AM, Trail, Downhill, IMO, you really don't need that many points, however, its nice to have, but, at what price? That's totally up to you. Good luck!
  • 10-29-2012
    dumanichi
    Quote:

Originally Posted by KevinK View Post
    What UST wheel set are you putting these hubs on? If you want a work horse, that never has problems, I'd go with the DT Swiss 240S hubs. Order the star ratchet, which is super easy to install, and you will have 36poe! I have the dt240s hubs on two bikes, one is 7 years old, the other is fairly new.

If you are a technical rider, I would definitely go with a higher POE like I9 or Hadley, which has 72 POE!, If you hammer, xc, AM, Trail, Downhill, IMO, you really don't need that many points, however, its nice to have, but, at what price? That's totally up to you. Good luck!

I am running WTB i23 rims. Haven't decided on tires yet but I want something that corners and tracks like the Kenda Nevegal without the extra weight and slow rolling. I looked at the DT Swiss 240s but they are a bit pricey. I am looking at staying under $700 for the wheel build w/o tires. The front DT Swiss hub is out of my price range.
  • 10-29-2012