Max
    Velodramatic

riding SID Carbon w/o expander plug?

i have been racing on SIDs w/o star fangled nuts for three years now, but today i got a new carbon crown. does anyone ride his SID carbon without the expander plug? given that carbon is just as reliable as alloy steerers, that shouldnt be a problem, right?

Skinny guys fight 'til they're burger

banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Max
    i have been racing on SIDs w/o star fangled nuts for three years now, but today i got a new carbon crown. does anyone ride his SID carbon without the expander plug? given that carbon is just as reliable as alloy steerers, that shouldnt be a problem, right?
    shoudln't be a problem although carbon steerers could be damaged from overthightened Stems. the expander plug supports the steerer in the clamping area to prevent any possible damage. . also carbon steerers are more "elastic" than Al-steerers. means they flex a bit under a load which might result in headsets loosening. i would suggest you use a Schmolke carbon plug to prevent any possible failure.

i know several guys who ride without anything but i personally wouldn't do it.

but congrats for the carbon steerer. that alone should save about 50g on your SID

that's what i call a nice christmas gift.

Max
    Velodramatic
    i'd sandpaper the clamping surface a bit and use loctite (the one that prevent screws from coming loose). we'll see....

Team SUMMIT BICYCLES

I've had bad luck with this setup

I don't use a starnut or cap with my aluminum steerer SID, but I do use the expander plug and cap with the carbon SID steerer. I tried going without the cap on a ride the other day and the carbon loosened quickly. I guess I am also reluctant to get the bolts too tight with the fragile nature of the carbon steerer. For what it is worth, I am using a Syntace F99 stem.

Max
    Velodramatic