mtbr member

Looking at lighter cassettes, which on

Thinking of replacing my cassette this year along with the chain and may as well shed some weight at the same time. I am not hard on my drivetrain so it should last a long time. Have a Sram PG-1030 which looks to be in the 380g range (correct me if I am wrong). Seeing the XG-1080 cassette at ~240g for ~$200 (eBay) isn't that bad and will shave over 100g. Don't have any interest in the $400 XX. What about Shimano XTR?

Thanks
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    One can get the XX cassette much cheaper than $400. You're not looking hard enough.

Sram XG-1099 XX 10-fach Kassette - BIKE-COMPONENTS.DE

199 euros - 19% VAT = 161 euros
    + 20 euros shipping
    TOTAL 181 euros (236 dollars)

IllumaDucati
    Since this is the Weight Weenies forum, I'm going to assume that your bike is reasonably light, and I'll also assume that you're in good shape and that you're not riding up mountains while carrying a forty-pound backpack.

If this is the case, do you really need a 22-32 or 22-34 low gear? What for?

For years I've been riding off-road with Dura-Ace 12-27 cassettes on my bikes. Everything about them is excellent. They're light, their machining is exceptional, and they shift beautifully.

It's easy to find 27 or 28-tooth Dura-Ace 10-speed cassettes. That's what I'd suggest you try.

mtbr member
    I ride a 1x10 with a 33t front ring..I need an 11-36 mountain cassette. My bike with my dry condition tires sits around 23.5 and am hoping to get into the 22 range with a new cassette and a carbon bar. I may consider going to Eggbeaters to drop another 100g..but I swear by my SPDs and this falls into the "I don't care what they weight" category. I agree with your assessment; back in the day, the standard granny gear was a 24/28 or a 22/28 and they worked just fine.

IllumaDucati