mtbr member

Lightening my 2013 specialized rockhopper 29er

I'm in need of some help in lightening my rockhopper 29er any input is greatly appreciated and links to thanks in advanced

Btw I'm a noob so I really do appreciate the help I'm just gettin back into serious biking after 8 years

Thanks again Lightening my 2013 specialized rockhopper 29er-imageuploadedbytapatalk1343118995.541218.jpg
    And of course the bike for you guys to look at

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Wheels. Depending on your weight, but a wheelset with some good reliable hubs (Hope, DT, Shimano, or maybe some Tune or American classic ones if you want something lighter) + Stans crest rims should do the trick. Make sure you get a good builder to build them for you.

mtbr member
    I weigh 215 and I'm 6 feet tall

T.W.O
    Don't buy stans crests then, they have a weight limit of 190
    ------__o
    ----_`\<,_
    ---(_)/ (_)

mtbr member
    ok do you have any suggestions of what i can do to reduce the weight of my bike

MD Rider
    Remove your reflectors.

Give us a spec sheet of what's on your bike already.

Lightweight tires and tubes are probably the CHEAPEST route. Better wheels are going to lighten it up a lot, but you're going to spend around $500 to save 2-4 lbs there.

How much does it weigh now?

mtbr member
    i dont know the exact weight dont have a way of weighing it

here is the spec sheet you wanted
    FRAME Specialized A1 Premium Aluminum, 29er frame, fully butted w/ tapered headtube, forged dropouts, alloy replaceable der. hanger
    REAR SHOCK
    FORK SR Suntour SF13-XCM-LO 29", hydraulic damping w/ lockout, coil/MCU spring, 1-1/8" steel steerer, alloy disc only post mount lower, 30mm Hi-Ten stanchion, preload adj., 80mm & 100mm travel
    HEADSET Integrated 1-1/8" w/ lower bearing reducer, Campy-style, full cartridge bearings
    STEM Specialized 3D forged alloy, 4 bolt clamp, 6 rise, 31.8mm