jrd
    mtbr member
    Oct 2005

I need to shed 6lbs... not in my waist

Hopefully someone can give me a little direction,

I've been riding for about four years, racing for a year (off-road tri), and just bought my first full suspension. I am getting more involved with off-road triathlons but I wanted a tough bike that I could huck as well. I ended up settling for a custom built up 2005 Trek Liquid 25. A guy built it up and was getting rid of it on ebay. It was a decent deal so I went for it. Here are the specs;

2005 Rock Shox Pike Team U-turn 95mm-140mm 20mm Maxle
    Manitou Swinger 3-way 125mm
    FSA FR 230
    Truvativ Hussefelt 31.8
    Hayes HFX-9
    Sram x-7 RD: Sram x-7
    Shimano LX
    Haro Pivit sealed bearing disc hubs laced to Sun Singletracks
    Kona Jackshits
    Bontrager big earl with bash guard
    Maxxis Ignitor and dynomite
    Cassette: Sram 950.
    Seatpost: Bontrager Race.
    Saddle: Bontrager Race w/hollow rails.

It rides great but it ways around 35 or 36 lbs. I'd love to get it down a bit. I plan on going XO on the front and rear derailler eventually. I have a feeling the best place to drop is in the handlebars, stem, and post but I just don't know whats out there that is strong enough for a few six foot drops every now and then besides DH gear. If you have any thoughts, I'd love to listen.

Thanks

Joe
    Attached Images Attached Images

Trail rider and racer
    WOW, you have a big task ahead of you. Sorry but in all honesty, wrong bike if you want it really light I think..

Here we go:

- Get rid of the 20mm Thru Axle
    - Get rid of the FR230
    - Get Rid of the cranks
    - Get rid of the Hyaes
    - Get rid of the X7 for XO
    - Get rid of Wheelset for something lighter. Am Classic or hugi and some triple or double butted spokes
    - Bash guard needs removing - off road racing and the odd huck definately do not need a guard.