mtbr member
    Sep 2004

Fast engagement, but light hubs?

I'm building out a Santa Cruz Highball carbon and am trying to get it as close to 20 lbs as possible. My problem is that I have been rolling with King hubs on all my bikes for 10+ years. The Kings are fairly heavy and I can't go back to slow engagement rear hubs.

Question: Anyone have suggestions on fast engagement, but light weight hubs. From what I have seen, the DT Swiss 180's and 240's seem to be the best option.

mtbr member
    Extralite HyperHubs.

Tech geek and racerboy
    Feb 2004

Dt

That is my conclusion as well. DT Swiss with the 36t ratchet is a good compromise. To get much quicker you nees to go i9 or other heavy options.
    A hardtail is forever

mtbr member
    MTB252 (Bikehubstore.com) 48POE, 28 or 32 holes. 254gr.

I've got 2 so far, with chinese carbon rims. Works very well for me.

Envoyé de mon iPad à l'aide de Tapatalk HD

banned
    Project 321 Hubs are lighter then I9's but use their freehub -

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Kappius. 240 poe and superlight
    Something wrong with your bike? Blame it on super human strength and sleep well at night knowing you are more than a man.

Cassoulet forever !
    incredibly fast engagement, light, optimized geometry for rigidity, stong, French and expensive :
    AcSe Parts : Moyeux franais pour vlos des montagnes - Moyeux et composants VTT - AcSe parts
    Frenchspeaking 29"ers community site http://VingtNeuf.org

mtbr member
    Stupid light but I would go with the new SP DT hubs if I were to do it again. Built up with 28/28 x ray’s and 29er carbon rims, total weight 1340g.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Fast engagement, but light hubs?-2012-03-02_08-37-29_53_s.jpg  

"They Call Me Bone'z"
    I have these, they have been holding up very well
    MTB disc-brake hubs - superlight
    RAH!

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by red5jedi View Post