need more bikes!

Continental Explorers Supersonics

I just got my Conti Supersonics Thursday. Can't wait to try them out

Their weights were 458.5 and 479.5. I can understand a tire being 8.5 grams off advertised weight, but being 29.5 grams off! That 21 grams more than the other tire Anybody else see this with their tires.

I'll let everyone know how they feel once winter dies and I build my new bike.

BTW, I work in the rubber industry and it is possible to accurately control the weights of molded rubber parts. It's just lots of work. My guess is that weight discrepancy has more to do with casings and beads.
    Last edited by BOhNSAI!!!; 01-21-2006 at 07:48 AM.
    "someone set up us the bomb" No puedo sentirme las piernas

04 Stinky Primo for sale. Please buy it so I can buy more bikes, Please!

banned
    Quote Originally Posted by BOhNSAI!!!

Their weights were 458.5 and 479.5. I can understand a tire being 8.5 grams off advertised weight, but being 29.5 grams off! That 21 grams more than the other tire Anybody else see this with their tires.

BTW, I work in the rubber industry and it is possible to accurately control the weights of molded rubber parts. It's just lots of work. My guess is that weight discrepancy has more to do with casings and beads.
    i used to run those Contis about 2 years ago but since i replaced them with the Nokian NBX Lite 2.0 i won't never ever go back. the Explorer is sure a pretty good do-it-all tire but the Nokian is just worlds ahead in about every single aspect:

Conti Explorer SS weigh between 440-480g (same than the Nokian which weigh between 450-500g)

the Nokain has much more grip and is much faster rolling. using the explorers "tubeless" with a tubelesskit is a pain.they have extremely porous sidewalls and are harder to get sealed than the Nokians. as i always pointed out the Nokians are 5% faster than the Contis so no contest if speed is a factor.

need more bikes!
    Quote Originally Posted by nino