mtbr member

Carve SL SS on a diet?

Ok, so I've been riding my new Carve SL (rigid singlespeed) for a week or so now and love the thing! I'm just getting into mountain biking and haven't owned a bike in about 5 years, so I picked this bike thinking it would be a good first bike to learn the basics on.

But, as with anything I own, I can't just leave it stock! lol. I'm looking into Easten's Haven bars, 70mm stem and maybe a seat post to get started, I'm about 215lbs and the bike is full rigid (hence the haven AM stuff, lol). Even being All Mountain stuff its still a good bit lighter than all the stock stuff it will be replacing.

Am I on the right track? I don't really want to drop 1k or more on a set of nice wheels until I can get to where I can pick my lines better so I don't destroy them! haha

Jake

mtbr member
    With that bike as stripped as it is being a rigid single speed you aren't going to remove much more weight without dropping some bucks on a wheelset.
    A tech at my LBS has his SL pretty light with Enve carbon bars, other trick bits, but the big item was a set of flows he built up. Light tires running tubeless with ligth wheelset will be a big weight loss for that bike.
    Hardrock 29er, Niner EMD9, Cannondale F29, Camber Expert, 650b Nickel all gone.
    2014 Giant Anthem 27.5 here.

mtbr member
    Wheels are definitely the most significant thing you should look at for weight savings and something that will actually make a significant difference that you will notice. All the other smaller stuff you can do slowly along the way - like bar, stem, post or seat (unless there's other compelling reason to do so - like getting improved fit).