mtbr member

Carbon bars safe?

I'm looking at the various mtb carbon riser bars that are available and in so doing I checked the mtb reviews and was concerned about the failures that some riders have experienced. I realize that proper torquing and installation is critical, but it does make me nervous. Are there bars that have better track records than others? Maybe a lightweight aluminum bar is better for peace of mind.
    Last edited by jrsbike; 07-24-2004 at 12:21 PM. Reason: typo

The Ultimate Niche

Imho

I rode FSA carbon risers for about a year and a half...didn't have any problems with them. However, I never fully trusted them because of the horror stories I've heard about carbon risers. I've even seen them fail in person...ain't pretty. And as a bike tech I see broken bars in the shop every once in a while...but not too much recently which leads me to believe that Carbon Fiber has got'n better than it used to be. Still your shouldn't ride carbon bars longer that about 2-3 years. But as for me, in the end I went back to alloy risers just for peace on mind as my fear of carbon bars was effecting my riding. Weight reduction is important...but in the end you got to stick with your gut and go with what your trust. BTW, I like the Easton Monkey Lite alloy bars and the Bontragers...Syncross is nice too. As far as Carbon Fiber I like anything Easton and the FSA...I've heard good things about the Maxxis but never used one myself. My two cents...good luck!

I already rode that
    Quote Originally Posted by jrsbike
    I'm looking at the various mtb carbon riser bars that are available and in so doing I checked the mtb reviews and was concerned about the failures that some riders have experienced. I realize that proper torquing and installation is critical, but it does make me nervous. Are there bars that have better track records than others? Maybe a lightweight aluminum bar is better for peace of mind.