Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2009

where's the thread for riding with dogs?

Hey folks,

I've been searching for a minute and can't find any threads for riding with dogs. I'm preeetty sure there is already a thread out there but i can't find it. I'm just looking to for places to ride with my dog offleash. i've never done it before so I want to work her up to it.

if there's not, we can use this one.

-joel

mtbr member
    I have friends who bring their dogs every now and then. We have rode with the dogs off lease many times at Tokul E/W and Black Diamond (Summit ridge, Henry's ridge and the West side stuff).

Just roll it......
    B-rad shredding with his dog.....Timmy.

Kona Entourage tested on pinkbike.com

mtbr member
    I bring my dog with all the time, it's favorite thing in the world. Best places I've found are:

Tokuls
    Galbraith
    Tiger (only if it's cool out)
    Tapeworm
    Black Diamond/Sawyer
    Paradise (weekdays, early in the morning)

I avoid more popular areas and state parks, not worth the risk or hassle. Places like St. Eds, Duthie, etc.

I find the best way to get a dog used to going on rides is to go with someone else who already had a trail dog. The new dog will be just as happy following another dog, and they're less likely to run from a fun new group than boring old you (from their point of view) solo. My dog was having so much fun chasing other dogs and horsing around, I don't think he even realize he was off the leash the first couple rides
    Tarekith.com

'12 RM Slayer70, i9 Torch, Flow EX, XT Brakes, 5050 s3.

Last word is all yours...
    Good post. Tokuls is where I took my dog; no leash law and little traffic. Was a great spot for that. Would occasionally sneak her in on a night ride at some other locations, too. Definitely agree on skipping places like Duthie...
    --
    -bp

FM
    luxatio erecta
    If you take your dog to Tokul, please make sure you're prepared for the occasional horse encounter.