mtbr member
    Mar 2008

New to Richland.

Hey, I'm new to Richland from San Diego. I did a search and found State Patrol Trails in Kennewick. Went there last weekend, but I couldn't really figure it out for myself. Anyone wanna show me around the area and go for a ride this weekend or after work one day? PM me. If all else fails, I saw a bike shop down the road from the trail. Scott's Cycles. Maybe they have a map. Cheers.

JRA
    mtbr member
    All trails eventually end up down in Zintel Canyon. I used to have an old hardcopy (which would be quite a few years old) and I'll scan it in if I manage to find it. Check in w/ Scotts Cycles and Markee's Cycles (on Clearwater Ave).

Off the top of my head there's 6 main trails that head down towards the canyon: Big Tire, Fred-n-Johns, Baja, Slalom, X-Cut, Slime. On the opposite side of the canyon is Moab which has a spur trail leading up to Inspiration Point. One time, I tried riding all the trails out there at one time (not including Moab) and doing as little repeats as possible ... I came up with about 20-25 miles of trails if I remember right.

Get in touch w/ Chinook Cycling Club and ask for Montana Mike ... he can help you find some locals to ride with. There's also several other areas around the Tri-Cities to ride besides State Patrol.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Thanks JRA. Appreciate it.

JRA
    mtbr member
    Oh .. and since you live in Richland, there's trails at the Chamna Natural Preserve. You can also ride up from there to Badger Mountain and ride some of the trails (not all are open to mountain bikes if I remember right but my info is out of date).

I'd offer to show you around myself but I live in the Seattle area now.

mtbr member
    welcome to the dry shitties!

ill be riding this week after work. usually around 5 or 530. This is a great place if you like jumps and/or xc. nothing really technical.

scotts cycles is a great shop.