mtbr member
    May 2012

Farewell (My MTB days are over)

Hi Guys!

Remember me? I was a trail builder at Duthie and Colonnade.

Long story short? I can no longer ride mountain bikes due to a physical condition which causes me crippling pain. I used to be a regular builder at Duthie until early last year when I started getting symptoms. Unfortunately, bikes are the main cause.

Good news is that riding bikes is the only thing I can't do. I can still do other sports and activities just as normal, but nothing is quite like riding a bike, which was my favorite thing to do until this last year.

The great thing, is that I am now able to do more nature photography. Here's a link to my website. Check it out.

website

Since I've been out of the game for so long, where is the best place to sell used gear these days? Ebay used to be good but looks almost completely dead for MTB sales these days. I will post ads on MTBR, but any advice would be appreciated.

I am going to give it 5 years or so and see if I can ride a bike again.

To all the people I have ridden and built with over the years, THANKS! It was a good ride while it lasted!

-Johan
    Last edited by Johan_Eickmeyer; 05-07-2012 at 06:56 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Thanks "Flow-han" for all you did. Even if the Toilety Bowl didn't last.... Get well soon.

I5Troll
    Damn sorry to hear about that, Flowhan! Hope you heal faster and are riding sooner than you think.

**edit: totally messed up my user count #s. Corrected below...**

Huge thanks for all your hard work shaping one of the most ridden 1/3-mile stretches of dirt on the planet... the Bootcamp DH. The first Duthie user count estimate was 100K visits per year. The latest estimate puts it much higher that. With all the riders lapping, learning and training on the Bootcamp DH, I wouldn't be surprised if it got 1/2 Million hits per year.
    Last edited by mwestra2; 05-07-2012 at 03:01 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Thanks guys.