Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Esmerelda basin de roux loop

Gonz & I went looking for no trouble ditching our tools.

I've never done this fabled route before but Gonz had and we followed Jack D's map on the evergreen site. (Thanks Jack!)

http://trails.evergreenmtb.org/wiki/Trail:Esmeralda

The climb up was heinous yet acceptable for a route one hump from mt Stuart. A hiker lady said omg as I dripped and puffed up a stupid painful pitch. The truth is its mountain biking!

On the first climb up to the first major downhill: There were 5-7 trees a serious handsaw could cut in 2-5 minutes (13-18" pruning handsaw).

The first amazing downhill down to the jeep road had one tree. It was a good 10 minutes worth of cutting if you have said tools and time. The trail is MTB crack with views and careful riding in viewful conditions. And hint the de roux descent is even better but less views saddened us not.

A sawyer has been down the de roux trail which is adult mtb Disneyland for 2.5 miles and my critique is thanks just don't expect your customers to move your rounds. But really good work and those that follow should help.

The photos are from the first scenic descent. The only evidence I have of the below the lake trail will be my friends pix.

Whatta trail!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Esmerelda basin de roux loop-uploadfromtaptalk1373872514123.jpg  

Esmerelda basin de roux loop-uploadfromtaptalk1373872573844.jpg  

Esmerelda basin de roux loop-uploadfromtaptalk1373872539512.jpg  

mtbr member
    Awesome this is on my list for the summer for sure.
    Tarekith.com

'12 RM Slayer70, i9 Torch, Flow EX, XT Brakes, 5050 s3.

FM
    luxatio erecta
    Good stuff! Glad to hear it's snow free!

mtbr member
    We'll be riding Esmy-DeRoux this Saturday if anyone's interested.
    Evergreen MTB Calendar
    Also, doing a ride in that neck of the woods this Wednesday as well.
    Evergreen MTB Calendar

mtbr member
    Sep 2005