mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Bike Maintenance classes

I'll admit I am fairly new to MTB got my first mountain Bike a few months ago. At 40 now my last bike was racing BMX in the 80's. The bike Technology has changed immensely and if I knew then what I knew now I would have started riding 20 years ago. This is the funnest sport I've ever gotten into.

That being said now invested well over a couple grand easy in my new bike. I would like to learn more about it. I bought a good book on the subject, read it and have watched youtube videos but I am a very hands on learner and I have to physically do it to learn it.

So, any classes that teach MTB maintenece in the Seattle area?

Thanks in advance

I didn't do it
    I think REI has some classes. But you should try self teaching. There's a lot of good advice on the interwebs and in print. Start small, get some confidence and keep going. I find bike maintenance to be pretty fun and the trial and error gives you good insight into what works and what doesn't.

Go to book: Zinn & the Art of Mountain Bike Maintenance: Lennard Zinn, Todd Telander: 9781934030592: Amazon.com: Books

One of many good online resources: Park Tool Co. » ParkTool Blog

Ride on
    Let's eat Ted
    Let's eat, Ted
    Remember, commas save lives

Fat-tired Roadie
    Since you're in Seattle, check out Wright Brothers Cycle Works. http://www.wrightbrotherscycleworks.com/

I'd been working on my bikes for a while before I moved to Seattle, so I haven't taken any of their classes. But a $30 membership gets you access to their community shop space and you can always ask questions when you're there.

Not sure if they can help you with the hydraulic systems. But mountain bikes are really still mostly mechanical.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Feb 2014