mtbr member
    Jul 2012

New question here. Tires for Northern Va trails (wakefield, Fountainhead)

Hi All,

I am new to mountain biking and purchased a 2012 Cobia at the end of last year. I have heard the tires that come stock are a weak point and looking to change them (29er). I have mainly been doing wakefield but my friends do fountainhead all the time and occasionally Schaeffer Farms. Are there any tires you all would recommend for these trails?

I found an old post that suggested Maxxis Ardents, Schwalbe Nobby Nic/Hans Dampf for the area.

**note** I am new to mountain biking so I do not need any fast race type tire as I don't really go fast at all.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    What are your current tires? Tires are a personal thing so you'll get a dozen different answers. Not to mention, what works well in the summer when things are hardpack won't work well when the leaves fall and things are mushy.

mtbr member
    I'm a fan of Ardents for general riding in the area. Good combination of reasonable rolling resistance and good traction.

Racing Ralphs are a good fast, low-rolling-resistance tire at the expense of some traction.

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by bobby_tables View Post
    What are your current tires? Tires are a personal thing so you'll get a dozen different answers. Not to mention, what works well in the summer when things are hardpack won't work well when the leaves fall and things are mushy.
    The tires that came on my bike are:

Front Tire Bontrager XR3, 29x2.1"
    Rear Tire Bontrager XR3, 29x2.1"

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Not familiar with those tires, but forget the whole "weak point" nonsense, more important is how do they feel for you? Now that the freeze/thaw cycle is over, how much riding have you done with them on dry dirt? Do they still feel loose, out of control or squirrely in the turns?