Tough Guy Extraordinaire

Iron Hill Challenge

Anyone know how long the laps are for this upcoming race? Can't find anything about it other than lap counts.

Also if anyone knows the course, can you give me any info? Big climbs? Suprise steeps, etc...?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Without knowing for sure I'd guess you'll be looking at 7-8 miles for a lap, Iron Hill park is fairly small. I'm not an expert on the place but I have been there, I'd mostly call it "rolling". There are some moderate climbs but I don't know of anything too extreme.

I've heard a lot of good things about the race, hopefully those who have raced it before can jump in with more specific information. Also, probably worth running a search for previous years events since there is a good chance the route will be similar.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Re: Iron Hill Challenge

I am thinking of running single speed, anyone have some insight to gearing? I'm thinking 34/19 on my 29er.

mtbr member
    This is the MASS series race, right?

If so, there is a fairly decent video of the race from 2010 and the course looked very similar to 2012:

Iron Hill 2010 Mid Atlantic Super Series - YouTube

My experience from last year was that in the beginning of the lap you want to get ahead because it gets fairly tight before the faster sections start and it can be muddy/slippery. There is a muddy slippery hill -- Iron Hill probably -- that a lot of people don't make it up so if you are following somebody definitely leave yourself a path to get around them if they fall because start/stopping sucks right?

Otherwise it was a fun course, more technical than Fairhill for sure.

Tough Guy Extraordinaire
    Thanks for the info. Yes the MASS series is what I am asking about. I have seen a few of the videos, just trying to get a sense of the length of the laps.