Thread: copperhead?

mtbr member

Idea! copperhead?

Hi All,
    Was walking along Shavers Fork next to the High Falls yesterday and almost stepped on this critter.
    I'm not an expert but I think it's a copperhead.
    Can I get a second opinion?
    And when I say "almost stepped on" I mean I was a split second away from planting my foot right on top of him.

FrankNbike
    Maker of Mellow Rides

WWW.WVBIKE.ORG
    Fun Places To Bike In West Virginia

mtbr member
    The Copperheads I've seen have bands of alternating brown and light brown coloring. Whenever I'm hiking over loose rock I'm on the lookout for them since that's where they tend to be.

the unvarnished nonsense
    The pattern on that specimen doesn't really look "right" but its really faint (possibly ready to shed?) so who knows. The shape of the head is hard to discern from the pic as well. Can't tell if there's a pit in between the eyes or not. Copperheads have a distinctly spade shaped head. Did you notice any scent of cucumbers?

I am however, certain that is indeed, a snake.

I know, big help. \
    "Sufficient to have stood, yet free to fall."
    -John Milton, Paradise Lost

mtbr member
    Didn't notice any cucumber smell but the High Falls were throwing out a lot of spray that could have over powered it.
    The markings don't show up well in the photo but they were very faint in real life.
    Like I said I'm not an expert but I thought it might be a copperhead because of the flat and triangular shaped head.

FrankNbike
    Maker of Mellow Rides

WWW.WVBIKE.ORG

the unvarnished nonsense
    That detail shows more of the banding, and along with the head shape I'd say it probably was a copperhead. Could have been near molting time, or just a darker specimen. If you would have stepped on it, we'd probably know for sure. Something to keep in mind for next time.
    "Sufficient to have stood, yet free to fall."
    -John Milton, Paradise Lost

mtbr member