mtbr member
    Oct 2012

what are the older triple triangle gt's like?

Since I have gotten into mtb's I have always liked the looks of the older gt triple triangles and I was just wondering what they're like. I hear that they're tough and I'm keeping an eye out for one. A guy on craigslist has an outpost for $20 that needs some work but it sounds like stuff I could fix in a few minutes. So basically what I'm wondering is are they pretty good bikes, do they ride well, what are some things I can tell myself to justify having another mtb for the collection Thanks.
    All vintage all the time. Nothing like a nice chromo frame with some properly adjusted cantilevers.

mtbr member
    Was a big GT fan in the '90s..always like them. They are durable and ride well.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

Certified Bike Junkie
    If you want it, its hard to go wrong for $20. Plus, its an Outpost.
    Need: McMahon brake for roller cam mounts, Mountain Goat fork.

mtbr member
    You should stick with the steel framed triple triangles.... the aluminum ones ride like poop. If you're looking at the 90s... go for the Avalanche, Karakoram, Bravado, Borrego, Richter...etc. Scan the GT forum and you'll find threads discussing this in detail.

R.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    I used to have a 1987 Karakoram with a U-brake on the seat stays and the tire clearance was horrendous not to mention the bikes was super heavy even if it was almost the top of the line..

VRC Illuminati
    At $20, worth it for the experience you'll get out of it.
    -eric-

http://www.rumpfy.com
    Wanted: NDS Suntour XC Pro Microdrive 175mm Crank Arm.

mtbr member
    That's two lunches. Buy it and ride the thing.
    blah, blah, blah..........

www.fatcogs.com

slow