mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Sweet Wings Cranks removal

OK--so I picked up a road bike with Sweet Wings cranks on them--I have always wanted a set--but I cannot get that stinkin 8mm bolt in the center removed. Does anyone know if it is reverse threaded or what? There is no rust or anything like that. It just seems stuck.

Eric

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    Well, I wish I had this problem.
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

defender of bad taste
    Nov 2007
    I've never come across a reverse threaded crank bolt, I have however come across 8mm crank bolts that were fitted dry and over-torqued and they can be a nightmare to remove.

Try and get some penetrating oil in around the bolt and also into the taper from the back of the crank then let it sit for a couple days. The get the longest 8mm key you can and apply as much torque as you can, but apply it evenly - constant pressure not off-on-off-on - do not be tempted to try and hit the hex key with a hammer or something - a seat post over the end of the key can give you some good (and comfortable) extra leverage. There is a real possibility that the bolt will crack at one of its corners before it breaks free - if that happens you are looking at several hours drilling (and possibly an external crank puller). Good Luck!
    5 is the old new black; 6 is the new new black...

bonked
    Quote Originally Posted by mechagouki
    I've never come across a reverse threaded crank bolt, I have however come across 8mm crank bolts that were fitted dry and over-torqued and they can be a nightmare to remove.