mtbr member
    May 2013

Specialized StumpJumper M2 Dilemma

Hello!

A couple disclosures about me...

• I was really into racing during the early to mid 90's.
    • Family/Work/Life shifted my priorities and I do not race; just hit the trails whenever possible
    • I am not technical at all when it comes to bikes!
    • Have a special place in my heart for my Stumpy!
    • Don't have a large budget to allocate to my bike right now

A couple of things about my Stumpy...

• I think it is a 1993; not totally sure
    • All original parts except the fork, seat, and stem/bar
    • Judy SL Fork (I think it is worn out)
    • P.O.S. generic adjustable stem
    • Answer HyperLite Bar
    • XT Rear / LX Front
    • Brakes aren't that great (LX and is more than the pads)

Please help me with my dilemma!! My bike either needs to retire or get updated a bit! I don't need a pro upgrade, but I can feel its age.

Questions:

• Is this bike worth investing into this bike?
    • If so, what should I do to it?
    • Is it worth trying to get the Judy SL refurbished?
    • If I replace parts (stem, rear XT, fork), how do I know what size to get? (not savy at all with the mechanical end of bikes but can learn)
    • Is my bike still cool???!!

Thanks for any thoughts you may have! This is a great forum!

-Ryan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Specialized StumpJumper M2 Dilemma-2013-05-17-12.15.44.jpg  

Specialized StumpJumper M2 Dilemma-2013-05-17-12.14.46.jpg  

Specialized StumpJumper M2 Dilemma-2013-05-17-12.15.15.jpg  

mtbr member
    Sweet stumpy! That stem should be on a hybrid, not your M2... I too am curious about a Judy rebuild as I have an old XC in the garage. The least expensive option would be a rigid replacement. Cable inners, brake pads, and a good greasing/cleaning and she'll be back in action! Judging by the hitch hiker coupler on the seat post, it's been downgraded to sidewalk duty.

Phobia of petting zoos.
    Oct 2005