Thread: Ritchey sn P717

slower than you

Ritchey sn P717

I think I'm looking at a 1995ish Ritchey P-something (21?) bike. Have I got that right? Oldmountainbikes.com features a couple bikes with similar serials, purple paint, TIG-welds, and fastback stays that would imply I am (see: Old Mountain Bikes: Bike Listing), but I'm no expert at Ritchey numbers.

Ritchey sn P717-img_6611.jpg

Sadly, the bike has been "upgraded" in many respects (however the price was right: pay-it-forward free) and the original parts are nowhere to be found. Nevertheless clean XT topmounts and M735 series derailleurs are still in place. As you can see, below, the toptube has no model name printed on it, but the seattube still features the Ritchey Prestige and WCS badges. Downtube bears the Ritchey logo in good condition, too.

We'll see if the seatpost is fused when I get it home later...

Ritchey sn P717-img_6614.jpg

Any insights into helping me more accurately determine vintage appreciated.
    "May your trails be winding, lonesome, dangerous, leading to the most amazing view." - Ed Abbey
    http://rockychrysler.com/

the new Gilbert Grape
    Getting the exact year on 90's Rtichey frames is difficult. There's not anything that really distinguishes one year from the next. The decals changed a little, but that's about it.

Look at the decals on the seat tube. If the tubing says "Nitanium" the frame is later in the run, my '95 says "Prestige by Tange," others will say "Ritchey Logic." Also look at the years listed under the stripes. If you see "1992" listed, you know it's newer than that.

Kandy Purple is listed in the '95 catalog and the other bikes with a similar Pnnn serial number cluster around '95, so that's a good bet (+/- a bit).
    Each bicycle owned exponentially increases the probability that none is working correctly.

gobsmacked Moderator

Ritchey sn P717

No better advice than ^ . Great looking frame. Holler if you need parts for it. We like to help.

slower than you