mtbr member
    Jun 2005

Painting a classic frame advice needed

I have one of the last Bontrager Races made in SC. Bought new when I worked in a shop who was a dealer. I can't remember if Bonti power coated or painted their frames. My question is to refinish or just touch up trouble areas?

The frame, paint and decals are in good shape but I have a couple of trouble spots. Most of the finish (like 90%) of the is fine. On the seat stays a few chips have some surface rust, plus some rust under finish around those chips. The frame itself has no rust inside. I decided to overhaul the bike this winter and discovered the finish around the BB, drive side chainstay, and a small spot by the seat post clamp was peeling off. Metal underneath is fine. Finish wise I would need to hit the bottom of the bike and both seat stays and seat post clamp area.

I know value wise it better to keep it original, but I don't want rust. My thought is to color match the paint, wire brush and treat the rust spots. Then sand to fade in the chips, mask the rest of the bike, prime and paint the spots. The finish peeling is concerning and I'd sand back to where it is stable again. OR get new decals, have it striped and treated for rust and get it powder coated.

Not so sure how concerned I am about value as I doubt I'll ever sell it, but I don't want to ruin the original finish if I don't have too. Thoughts or suggestions, what would you do?

VRC Illuminati
    Well thought out question on a popular debate topic.

Personally I prefer patina. They're only original once and those battle scars tell a story...especially if it's an original one owner bike.

If you don't ever plan to sell it and you don't care about total originality, but rather prefer a bike with a clean bill of health protected by a reliable power coat...then by all means, paint away. PC is cheap and replacement decals are plentiful (originals more expensive than repops).