mtbr member
    Mar 2014

New drivetrain for 1st gen Jekyll recommendations

I have an older Jekyll that I would like to upgrade the drivetrain on. It still has the CODA crankset, older XTR RD, an older XT FD, and I just upgraded the shifters to a XTR 9spd models. I am thinking of going to a 2x drivetrain due to the fact that I never use the big ring. Actually I rarely use the small ring either. With that said, I am open to a 1x drivetrain as well. I would like to stick with upper end components. My plan is to ride the bike until the rear non replaceable shock (trunnion mount), is no longer useable, then get a new frame and use these components on it. I have already upgraded the brakes with the XT 785's and ice tech rotor on the rear and going to do the same in the front on the lefty shock. What I need are some good suggestions. Looking at going full XT or XT/XTR 10spd mix. Open to SRAM as well. I am a novice rider, who rides in the southeast...mainly coastal, and some SORBA trails. Bike is 30lbs as it sits, would like it to be a bit lighter. There are some good deals out there on 10spd gear. So shoot with suggestions and questions. Thanks.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Sounds like you have it pretty well nailed down, I'd go Shimano over $ram all day long though....

$425 cassettes? Blow me.

Just FYI, pretty sure Risse Racing makes a replacement rear shock for that mount design, guess you'll have to keep on riding it

Also, while it is old, it's not really in the scope of this forum (think early/mid 90's as the virtual, drop dead cutoff depending on brand), you might have better luck posting on the Drivetrains board, but some of the regulars around here do own newer stuff too.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Mar 2014