mtbr member

Merlin XLM rigid fork help

I have a 1996 Merlin XLM s/n 13024 that I'm trying to find out what rigid fork would be proper and period correct for the frame, It is set up for an 1"1/8 thread less steer tube.

I've seen some posts about Merlin using Ritchey logic forks, would that have been a steel fork? and what A/C measurement and offset should I be looking for on this frame.

I checked the mtb-kataloge.de site and they are missing the 95,96 Merlin kataloge's

mtbr member
    I'm not a Merlin expert, but I'm pretty sure when going ridgid, they indeed used a black Ritchey logic fork. Yes steel.

mtbr member
    Once things went threadless, I seem to recall seeing more Kinesis or Fat Chance forks on Merlins than the Logic forks that I associate with 1 inch threaded.

Of course, this was dwarfed by the number that had Judys. Anyone who bought a Merlin without suspension was being contrary.

A Potts Type II is period correct...

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    FWIW, I bought an XLM a few years ago, and it came with a suspension fork, and a rigid fork that the previous owner had built for him by Waltworks.

I'd go that way, or yeah, a Fat fork, something cool and aftermarkety, nothing against the Ritchey stuff......
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    The Potts type II is a great idea and his shop is less then an hour drive from my house.

Since the frame was built in 96, I am not sure if it was designed around a 63mm 0r 80mm suspension fork. I'm sure I could bring him the frame and sort that out.

edit from 65mm to 63mm
    Last edited by jeffh; 11-09-2010 at 03:50 AM.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffh
    The Potts type II is a great idea and his shop is less then an hour drive from my house.