Thread: McMahon BUFF

mtbr member

McMahon BUFF

Little backstory.

Got into mountain biking in 1990.
    Started with a Schwinn Sierra MOS.
    Went through various bikes over the next ten years. Klein Rascal. Manitou FS (not the fork. Manitou full suspension frame). Amp B4. GT LTS.

Built up this Mcmahon BUFF towards end of 97 going into 98. IIRC, I got frame at end of 97 and collected rest of pieces in 98.

I rode this through 99 and life got in way and stopped riding. Luckily sat unmolested collecting dust in my parents basement.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago and i got the biking bug back. Ill be bringing it back to life and will make some decisions on some upgrades.

Some highlights
    Manitou xvert r
    Chris king headset.
    Grip shift
    Hope titanium hubs with titanium spokes.
    Hope disc brakes.
    Raceface cranks
    XTR Derauiller and cogset
    Speedplay Magnum pedals.

Some iPhone pics to start.

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    A friend of mine had a McMahon DH with a similar pivot setup. This was in the late '90s, if I recall. It had some interesting details like an adjustable top tube...
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    You may want to hold off on the upgrades.

In 99 you left a bad-ass bike in your parents basement. A few weeks ago you blew the dust off a museum piece.

It's very cool but I'm not sure trying to modernize it is a good idea.
    If you're still the same guy that built that up back in the 90s, you owe it to yourself to get a modern full suspension bike.

Appreciate your old bike for what it is. A very cool early version of a modern full suspension bike.
    Warning: may contain sarcasm and/or crap made up in an attempt to feel important.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by trailville View Post
    You may want to hold off on the upgrades.

In 99 you left a bad-ass bike in your parents basement. A few weeks ago you blew the dust off a museum piece.