mtbr member

Looking for Old Style Lights

Not goin in for all this LED stuff!
    Looking for old style lights for going through woods/trails at night
    All I'm finding in my local stores are either high power LEDs or cheap road sets.
    Any ideas?

Phobia of petting zoos.
    Oct 2005
    What sort of lights are you after?

When I go through the woods/trails at night I tend to use high powered LED lights. I was using a HID until it died on me last year.

Why the reluctance to use something current that offers excellent output and battery life?

Back in the day... or night, when I started riding off road after dark, we made our own lights with 12v halogen globes and rechargeable sealed lead acid batteries. They were heavy and didn't give great run time but we had fun. When we bought HIDs we had more fun. Then we bought LEDs and had fun for longer.

Grumps

26 for life.
    I dug out my old BLT halogens to compare to my new Gemini Duos. The difference was night & day, literally.
    The Duos low beam was equal to the BLTs high beam, except it was half the weight & would pump that out for 30 hours.
    They even paled my L&M Arcs which cost 3 times as much.
    Sent from the future to destroy the past.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Yes, why? You prefer heavier batteries with less run time, and lights that are better at blending with the color of their environment, than illuminating it?

I'd bet most here would agree, while old bikes are fun to ride, and remind you of days gone by, most prefer modern tires on 'em, or at a minimum, fresh from the vault, NOS rubber.

Point being, just cause it's old, doesn't automatically mean it's retrogrouch rider approved.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

the new Gilbert Grape