Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    illuminaughty

Lawwill Leader Fork

It's so cool finding treasures I saw this one about a week or so ago at a bike shop.They were going to take it off a Trek and put on a rigid fork...I kept checking back and now it's MINE! Long 1" steerer, looks like it was rarely used. This is the second in my collection but this one is in way better condition.

Does anyone have any tuning info or links on this shock. I've seen a couple on Retrobike and Mombats but no solid info as far as air and oil...thanks in advance if you can help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Lawwill Leader Fork-ll1.jpg  

Lawwill Leader Fork-ll2.jpg  

Lawwill Leader Fork-ll3.jpg  

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    If I remember correctly, you can adjust the geometry by raising or lowering the black tubes in the triple clamp.
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    I helped Mert develop that fork back in 1990-1991 and I came up with the name for it, too! If you look, you will notice that the leading links are different lengths-this controls the geometry so that the trail never changes as the fork compresses, unlike other forks, where the steering quickens up as they compress because the amount of trail is changing. Also notice the links are pointing upwards-this helps it get up and over obstacles. I used to demonstrate this feature by running head-on into a curb without pulling up on the bars and the fork would just float up and over! Risse racing is still around in Norcal and can service the shock. I used to use about 60 pounds of air for a plush ride-I'm about 155 pounds. Also the fork oil weight can be changed to speed up or slow down the action-i.e. 7.5 weight to 10 weight oil. There is about 2.5 inches of travel available.

mtbr member
    I had a copy of the manual around somewhere. I'll see if I can dig it up. I just moved and don't remember coming across it so it may be lost to the ages.

mtbr member