mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Help With 1990 Stumpjumper Wheels

My 1990 Stumpjumper project has hit a little snag. I tried putting some newer lighter wheels on this bike but the 9 speed cassette was just way out of alignment, with the front chain rings, due to the extra width. I am fine with the 7 speeds that it came with but since the original BX-23 wheels have a few broken spokes and seem kind of heavy compared to a modern wheel, I have been looking for a way to upgrade. Can anyone recommend a nice , light 26" wheel that will fit my 7 speed cassette? I am sure that this is probably a stupid question but I am just getting into working on my old bikes. I was thinking about the BXL-21 wheels that were on some of the high end Stumpys back in the day but they are hard to find and maybe there is something newer and better that will work. I am about 225 lbs and am into xc style riding. Thanks!

VRC Illuminati
    Putting a 9spd cassette when the rest of your drive train is (I'm assuming) 7spd will be a bit problematic. Nothing wrong with keeping it 7spd. It'll ultimately be cheaper and you can still run a pretty low gear with the right cassette.

Without any pictures, its going to be tough for us to determine what exactly you have going on.

If you're not set on keeping it period correct, you have a ridiculous number of options.
    -eric-

http://www.rumpfy.com
    Wanted: NDS Suntour XC Pro Microdrive 175mm Crank Arm.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    If your existing 7 speed hub is in good smooth working order, just build a new hoop around it....

Or am I missing something?
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Actually if you have a 9 speed freehub and a 7 speed cassette you are in the best of all positions. I run that and you can get almost whatever chainline you want.