mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Drop bar stem requirements

So I guess we're getting moderately tired of all the dropbar threads now (!) but after doing a few searches I'm struggling to find the answer to a few questions about stem setup with offroad dropbars. I'm new to the offroad dropbar word and have ridden MTB for at least twice as long as I have road, so no real history from that side of things.

Generally - I'm looking at advice on how to determine stem length and angle for offroad dropbars, to try to get a similar handlebar height when in the drops as where my current non drop bars grip area is. As it's going to have to be some freakishly long/highangled stem that I won't be able to use on any other bike, I don't want to play the 'buy a stem, try, buy another until AOK' game. I guess that as the hook of the bars is forward of the tops, the fact that a high angle stem brings the stem clamp towards the saddle is cancelled out - is that right?

Specifically - I'm looking at putting drops on an XL Bontrager Race, which currently has a 100mm 5 degree stem and tall easton riser bars - they give approx 6cm rise from the top of the clamping area to the top of the middle of the grip portion (I think they call em 5cm rises, but thats probably to the start of the control/grip section). I like the look of the Gary drop bar, which seems to have good flare and a low amount of drop. What I'd like to know is - should I be trying to get the hook at about the same height as my current riser grip (about 5/6cm below saddle height) and is that possible with ahead stems - I'm running a 1" ahead steerer but am fine with using 1 1/8" ahead stems and adapters.