mtbr member
    Feb 2010

Another old Stumpjumper thread?

Pleez help me work on my mid-80’s Stumpjumper…

Just saw that there's another guy posting here who latched onto one of these recently too. Found mine at a garge sale a while back & let my son run off with it for a few weeks but finally got it back & am starting work. Maybe its not a really rare or unique old mtb but have to admit that I’ve been a Specy fanboy for years & it’s what i’ve got & I like it a lot - it is a heckuva lot of fun to ride. At the moment am headed towards trying to make it close to original as I can, keeping in mind I am no expert. Fortunately all the mechs work well & seem original. The cable housings are rough but for now am worried about the cosmetics.

My q’s…

The seatpost has “Strong” along with made in Japan on it in several places. Do those in the know think it’s OEM? Trying to figure out its size…looks like is marked 27.0? But wear ‘n tear makes it hard to decipher. Could that be the right seatpost size?

This seat just doesn't seem quite right...no Specialized markings on the underside, & has a made in China sticker. Any chance it could be original?

Will check in here with more questions & updates on my progress if the forum doesn't mind?

Thanx for any help…

PS...for some weird reason, I like the dork disc on this bike???

mtbr member
    Seat post probably original. 27.0 could very well be the correct size (does it fit??) and that seat is a low end model from early to mid 90s I'd guess.

VRC Illuminati
    Saddle, grips, pedals, and tires are not original. The rest of it looks to be. That Strong post will last for ever.

Look for a Specialized Lambada or maybe Avocet Touring saddle for correctness.
    -eric-

http://www.rumpfy.com

Wanted: Syncros 27.2 x 425 seatpost

mtbr member