Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

94 Marin Zig Zag Trail headset question

4K views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  mechagouki 
#1 ·
I posted this on the Marin board but thought i'd also post it here

I have a 94 Marin Zig Zag Trail which i will be installing a front fork with a 1-1/8" Threadless steerer tube. Can anyone tell me what headset i'd need to make this work? Thanks in advance
:cool:

#5 ·
Biohazard74 said:
Lol ok thanks. So the headtube circumference does no matter? I'm new to building up a bike so I have to ask. Mainly because my Giant mountain bike and my commuters headtube is almost double the girth of the Marin. Thanks again.
Your Giant/commuter probably have cheap aluminum frames with crazy wall thicknesses, the Zig Zag was medium to high end I believe and has a decent quality steel frame so the head tube wall thickness will be no more than 1/8". The internal diameter is what matters to you - and as Rumpfy stated, most any 1 1/8" threadless headset will work, do be a little wary though as some bikes now run a kind of integrated headset that uses cups machined into the frame itself - if you buy one of those it aint gonna work.

Slightly OT, but I'd like to see some decent pictures of the bike (ideally before you remove the stock fork/stem). The Zig Zag for some reason seems to be the rarest of Marin models and there was a long running thread on RetrobikeUK that failed to ever turn up anything other than a catalog shot, I'm sure some folks over there would appreciate some good pix.

#6 ·
mechagouki said: