mountaingoatcycles.com

1991 Ellison E-Stay bike, made in Texas

We got this a month or two ago as a bare frame and have been working on building it back up as period correct as we could. By the serial number this should be the 3rd 17" elevated stay bike from 1991. Not sure how many he made but I can't imagine it was a big number. We used a pretty standard Shimano Deore XT parts kit with a Mantiou suspension fork. More pictures and details @ http://mombat.org/MOMBAT/Bikes/1991_Ellison.html

defender of bad taste
    Nov 2007
    The welds are a bit industrial, but I really like it, build is great.
    5 is the old new black; 6 is the new new black...

mtbr member
    I remember those being made in Houston, no?

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    I generally don't care for elevated chainstay bikes, but that one looks nice. I vaguely remember reading somewhere that Ellison overbuilt his frames on purpose, because he hated doing repairs.
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

He be a moose too.
    I don't know if it they were overbuilt to avoid repairs so much as replacement as in most cases, the manufacturers end up replacing aluminum bike. Those welds are quite similar to American's welds....just without the quality.

Although I've never ridden an Ellison (nor even seen one), so I don't know how they ride.
    Looking for:
    • Bontrager Comp crown, 1" threaded
    • Syncros Revolution, drive side 172.5

mountaingoatcycles.com
    Quote Originally Posted by mechagouki
    The welds are a bit industrial, but I really like it, build is great.
    Similar to the American "beauty" welds but maybe not quite as even?

mountaingoatcycles.com
    Quote Originally Posted by babbalanja
    I remember those being made in Houston, no?
    From March 1991:

No known cure
    Quote Originally Posted by Vlad