mtbr member
    Apr 2013

1990s Specialized Hardrock

Hopefully this is the right forum.

I bought a 1990s Specialized HardRock off craigslist a few months back. $75. I got it from a bicycle mechanic so it had all new cables and housing and was tuned perfectly. I use it for commuting and neighborhood rides right now. I was super inspired by this all things Koski thread and the picture of the bike with a short stem and high rise bars. I really want to do this to my HardRock.

I'm still a novice at bicycle mechanics and just recently got a bike stand.

A) Is the stem in my hard rock now a "quill" stem? I would like to take out the stem in there now. Is that possible without having to replace my fork? If it is do you guys have any recommendations in stems that are similar to the one shown in my example picture and compatible with my HardRock? Basically something not as high but shorter.
    B) Also here are the handlebars I have chosen off Amazon. Wald 5.25" rise bars. They looked comparable to the ones in that picture and have good reviews and a good price. What do you think?

Amazon.com: Wald 5.25-Inch Rise MTB Handle Bar, Chrome 27.1 #803: Sports & Outdoors
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1990s Specialized Hardrock-picture3_zpsc1bfda37.png  

1990s Specialized Hardrock-gedc0008.jpg  

gobsmacked Moderator
    Apr 2008
    Is that the look you're going for? Great one to emulate.

mtbr member
    Yes that's a quill stem, looks to be 1"inch. Loosen the allen bolt and give it a tap back down with a mallet, it should pull right out.. Don't need to play with the fork or headset (big chrome nut doohickey).
    I'm not a fan of the roady stem and high rise bars, it looks all San Francisco but I'm an idiot with such things.

I say if your way tall and that's where you run your seat walk away.

velocipede technician
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbowho View Post