mtbr member
    Jan 2014

1990 Stupjumper drivetrain.

Anyone know if a 9 speed cassette will work on a 1990 Stumpjumper comp? The wheel fits on the frame fine, just a little tight. Its a Mavic 231 CD with xtr hub and a 9 speed shimano cassette. The cranks and front sprocket are the original Deore that came with the bike. I am going to pick up a chain this week but am wondering how it will shift. It also has a Deore 9 speed rear derailleur that I will upgrade to xtr if it works. Just getting back into mtn biking after many years and I love working on my bikes in the garage but admit that I am not very good at it yet. Watching lots of utube videos and reading this forum. Thanks!

mtbr member

Re: 1990 Stupjumper drivetrain.

Its a wider wheel. As u discovered. Suggest going back to what it came with if thatis what you are looking for and that is 7 gear cluster/hub.

Since you have parts see if it works ok. 8 speed is closer to OEM.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    I would think by 1990 your stumpy would be spaced at 135 mm . If it is still at 130 mm you can spread the stays (cold set) but you will want to align the dropouts when you are done or you might have axle problems. Measure your dropouts if you need to coldset your stays, I can give you a link explaining what to do , it is easy but needs caution.

mtbr member
    Also I am not the ultimate info source, but I do know the 9sp chains are narrrower, its possible that crankset may not work great for 9 speed. Maybe someone else can chime in. Its not the cassette/cluster you need to worry about like Fred said its the frame fitting the wheel in properly.

I have a '93 Cannondale and it came with 7speed I think if I recall. But getting old and memory isn't what it used to be LOL.