Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

1989-90 Mongoose IBOC Comp = Real MTB?

Is my Mongoose considered a real MTB? I currently ride it at the local mountain trails in SoCal Santa Clarita area with varying terrains. Not extreme though - Tapia and Towsley Canyon.

From what I know from scouring the Internet and looking at my bike - the specs:
    1989-90 Mongoose IBOC Comp
    Tange Double Butted Chromoly 4130 Rigid Frame
    Chromo 4130 Straight Forks
    Shimano Equipped: EXAGE 500LX M500 Group; SG? crankset, STI shifters
    ARAYA RX-7 Rims

Only thing replaced - tires and saddle.

Real noob here and just started riding trails after 20 years of inactivity - so behind the times. I plan on riding this until disposable money becomes available for an upgrade - so will it last til then?
    Thanks for any info or answers.

1989-90 Mongoose IBOC Comp = Real MTB?-_25865938.jpg
    1990 Mongoose IBOC Series Comp - all original
    2010 Cannondale F5

workin' it Administrator
    yes most definitely a real mountain bike. The IBOC was short for International Bike of Champions based on the usage by the then teammates of John Tomac and someone else whose name has slipped my grasp. They were the true mountain bikes of the Mongoose line and while the comp had lower end components EXAGE and the like everything else should be more than competent for mountain biking a long time.

You might want to consider getting some new brake pads as the originals are probably pretty dried out and you would probably get better performance out of new ones, alternately you could just sand the braking surface of them which will probably get you better performance.

I would ride it until you get some thing new whenever that is then I would get a tensioner for the rear and make it a singlespeed for some a different riding experience. That frame should literally last forever, as long as it hasn't sat in a lake or the ocean since being put away.
    Try this: HTFU

mtbr member