Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

video-editing for PCs made simple?

3K views 31 replies 15 participants last post by  Uncle Six Pack 
#1 ·
hi all,

i’m new to video editing and am currently using windows movie maker. i’m having fun editing a couple of small clips and putting together a series of related pics into one video but am already seeing the limitations of the program. one being i cannot seem to find a way to specify the location of the text – it always places it in the middle of the photo/clip.
any of you that use WMM offer any help?

to the rest of PC users that are not professionals, what editing software do you use? why did you chose it? is it easy to use and learn?

any help/input will be gr8ly appreciated.

ms K

ps: i would post this in the video forum but have noticed that not as many people hang in there as they do here. ;)

#2 ·
Adobe Premiere Elements for PC use. I think it retails around $100. Not as full featured as Premiere which I used in school, but good comprimise for home use.

I'm a linux user, Kino works great for simple projects. There's other open-source software out there that is more powerful but requires more skill to use.

#3 ·
Seconded. Before we switched to mac (best move we ever made), we bought licenses of a few high-end video apps. I'd have to look them up to recall... but the one we settled on was Premiere. & at a hundred bucks, you're not going to do better than Elements.

Final Cut Studio 2 though, on a Mac Pro... is nice.

#4 ·
thanks guys

i'm somewhat confused and overwhelmed. i went to amazon.com and read the reviews on element and most of them are really bad.

however corel/ulead videostudio 11.5+ has 4 and 5 stars from almost everybody.
darn, now i have a headache...

#5 ·
I use Premiere Elements. I'm on version 3. I haven't had any issues. It has some minor quirks,
but I've learned to work around these.

It is so full of features that I have yet to try many things.