mtbr member
    Jun 2013

New Sony hitting the trail

I am new to the POV world. The new Sony Action Cam caught my eye on the way to buying a Gopro Hero +3.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-HDR-AS100..._cd_ql_qh_dp_t

The specs look promising. Do any of you have experience with the new action Cam?

Thanks.

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    for that money I'd go with the VIRB from garmin. The Gopro's are about the "best picture" but honestly the average shot and for uploading to youtube/Vimeo you'll get just as good, with a better actual camera profile. The Gopro's look goofy and stick out to much anywhere but a cheat mount. The VIRB is about the best focus I've seen.. plus the GPS tracking built into the filming..

Contour is on a come back also.. I MUCH prefer my contour I have, not only mounting and locations but the added ability to rotate the lens adds even more mounting view point options
    Going to try and bring Trail Tire TV back. go take a look... http://trailtiretv.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by thomllama View Post
    for that money I'd go with the VIRB from garmin. The Gopro's are about the "best picture" but honestly the average shot and for uploading to youtube/Vimeo you'll get just as good, with a better actual camera profile. The Gopro's look goofy and stick out to much anywhere but a cheat mount. The VIRB is about the best focus I've seen.. plus the GPS tracking built into the filming..

Contour is on a come back also.. I MUCH prefer my contour I have, not only mounting and locations but the added ability to rotate the lens adds even more mounting view point options
    I would have to agree. The Sony is quiet bulky, and the range of mounts available is limited. Contour is another option, however I would go for the GoPro. Huge wealth of info out there, good warranty if required. I've had to use it and they were superb even though I bought my camera from abroad and couldn't find my receipt!

GoPro | Unsponsored